National award: ‘Soorarai Pottru’ best film; Sachy best director

New Delhi:

The 68th National Film Awards were announced here on Friday. The awards have been given in five categories. The award for the most film-friendly state has gone to Madhya Pradesh. ‘Soorarai Pottru’, directed by Sudha Kongara Prasad, was adjudged the best film. Tamil actor Suriya and Bollywood actor Ajay Devgn shared the best actor award this year for the films ‘Soorarai Pottru’ and ‘Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior’, respectively.

Mollywood actor Aparna Balamurali bagged the award for the best actress for the movie ‘Soorarai Pottru’. The Tamil film has won big this year, sweeping several awards in various categories.

Ayyapanum Koshiyum’ star Biju Menon won the award for the best supporting actor for the film. The actor had also recently won the 52nd Kerala State Awards announced this year for the movie ‘Aarkariyam’.

‘Ayyapanum Koshiyum’ also made an impact this year winning several awards. The late filmmaker Sachy, aka Sachidanandan K R, won the award for best direction for the movie, while Nanchiyamma of ‘Ayyappanum Koshyum’ fame was adjudged the best playback female singer. It was also adjudged ‘best action film’ and also won the most popular film award.

‘Thinkalazcha Nishchayam’, directed by Senna Hegde, bagged the award for being the ‘Best Malayalam film’, while ‘Sivaranjaniyum Innum Sila Pengallulm,’ directed by Vasanth S Sai, received the award for the ‘Best Tamil Film’.

‘Colour Photo’ in Telugu directed by Angirekula Sandeep Raj, ‘Goshta Eka Paithanichi’ (Tale of a Paithani) in Marathi, directed by Shantanu Ganesh Rode, Kannada film ‘Dollu’, directed by Sagar Puranik, Hindi film ‘Toolsidas’ Junior directed by Mridul Toolsidass, have won awards in the category: Best Feature Film in each of the language specified in the Schedule VIII of the Constitution.

The film Malik, directed by Mahesh Narayanan won the Best Audiography award. ‘Mandela’ received the award for best screenplay (dialogue category).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Don`t copy text!